Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Summer’s Day


Summer day

It’s such a lovely day I felt I ought to share it in a blog.

L’l Libby the Chihuahua, has gone home this morning, I’d like to think she had a nice holiday

My gran-daughter Lisa brought her collie Pepsi over  as she and hubby are going for a holiday, she is such shy little girl and no trouble.

This morning we all went for a walk  over the fields and li’l Libs just loves frolicking in the grass, as she lives in a flat most of the time.

After we came back I started pruning some shrubs , but have come indoors for lunch, I’m sitting here just having finished a tasty salad and a slice of iced lemon sponge. MMMMMMm. The windows and French doors are wide open with a gentle breeze blowing through, The dogs  are settled down for a nice nap, and I’m listening to Classic FM with the lovely summery music put on by Alan Titchmarsh, what could be better. J

After I’ve sufficiently recovered from lunch I will go back into the garden and do some more pruning,., Everything has just take off, and if I don’t get some control  of it, it will swamp me.

I bought an Acer a few years back, which I was under the impression it was a dwarf, HUH some bet, it grew and grew, so last year I decided to cut it down, but it has sprouted out all over so I’m hacking that back, also some  Invercallia shrubs that are galloping upward , I have a large Lime tree and as  I can’t grow flowers under it,  I have to resort to shrubs. Still the birds like them.

I had a nice surprise the other week, I saw some bright pink poking it’s head above the holly bush and wondered what it could be, when I looked I discovered it was a rose……… one I had thought I’d murdered last year or so had regenerated, there must have been a little bit of life in the underground root, I was so pleased as it was a rose that was here when I cam 26 years ago, Zepherine Douhaine, an old type shrub rose. Tough old bird obviously.

Well that’s it, I’ve almost finished my cuppa. Catch you again.

7 Comments

  1. Hi again Wolfie, i’m sorry that you too have fallen prey to the disinterest in blogging now, I do empathise, I’ve decided just to use it to jot down something that interests me and I want to use it more like a memory book, without worrying whether or not others like it, I won’t close it down, cos I know if I do I won’t open it again, and I do occasionally like browsing through the past, like walking down memory lane, keep in touch and keep your chin up .xxx

  2. A beautiful day Arlene….perfect reminder of better days to come now we are in the rainy season lol 😉 You caught me out with the Acer….lol thought you meant a laptop! Wolfie hugs 🙂

    • Nice to see you here Wolfie, sorry I don’t comment much on your posts, but to be honest, they are a bit beyond my understanding, so best keep my mouth shut on matters of which I know nothing, but I am glad to see you have a good following, such clever people. LOL my Acer, whcih actually my laptop is an Acer. Take care hugs from me Zak and Ruby xx

      • Actually Arlene I’ve just pulled down my latest post yesterday due to what felt like a devastating lack of interest – probably for same reasons you mention. And my stats are terrible of late. My good following looks deceptively impressive but believe you me it’s not at all as it seems these days. I resisted the temptation to shut down my blog without notice but my confidence is shot to hell now. I’ve decided to focus on commenting on as many blogs as possible for a bit – maybe I’ve been guilty of not bothering as much as I could. ..and I will have to review the kind of posts that interest people…stats suggest mythology and dog related posts so that might be more up your street! Stuck for ideas or enthusiasm though 😉 So you see…blog life is not always as it appears! Wolfie hugs to all you guys! xx

      • P’s lol…I think I’ve figured out why I couldn’t access my blogspot account…needs logging into from Internet Explorer not Chrome – I use a different Google email in Chrome. Catches me out time after time 😉 So hope to see you there in due course too 🙂 x

  3. Thanks Sheila, like you I’m hoping to school myself into blogging about once a month, I think about things every day, but resist as I don’t see the sense in spending time blogging into thin air LOL Thanks for your loyalty.xx

  4. Lovely Arlene sounds as though you are soaking up a beautiful day. Little lil was indeed a little Beauty , so glad you enjoyed your time together. Good to see a reviving Rose, what a smashing surprise. Had one here thought I’d lost but yay it survived it’s upheaval.
    Good to see you again here.
    Sheila x

Leave a Reply

