Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

A boring couple of days


Been trying to get the garden into shape for summer, maybe one year I will be able to spend a summer in the garden without feeling guilty about sitting on my derriere, Every year there seems to be more and more to do, or maybe it’s because I’m getting older I’m just getting slower, ?

Today I planted a Deutzia, Weigala , a climbing rose, Grisillena and two pots of sweet peas, let’s hope they all take.

My garden gets over-run with Lesser Celandine, it’s been the bane of my life, as it covers the flower beds and smothers so many plants, forget sowing seeds, I also get a horrible stinking onion smelling bulb with a white flower, I did look it up for a name one time but forgot it now, it , like the celandine, spreads all over the garden, I’ve pretty much given up sowing flowers direct and they’re confined to containers, and I’ll stick to shrubs.

I took a tumble to-day, nothing serious, but isn’t it funny how when you get older, when you fall, you don’t just sort of fall on your knees or anything, you seem to roll as each bit you fall on crumbles and you eventually land up on your face. I’ll be stiff in the morning I’ll bet. no damage was done, but I got a bit wet as I’d been watering the plants and the decking was slippery.

Well that’s it for now, I hope to get the lawn mown to-morrow, it makes the whole garden look so much better.Oh, By the way, Zak just loves coming out in the garden and faffing around, and it has stirred Ruby into coming out too, where she used to just stay indoors on her bed, she’s probably worried she’ll miss something. LOL

4 Comments

  1. So sorry to hear that you took a tumble sweet Arlene, sure hope you are not bruised and sore and certainly hope you did not break or damage any of yourself. Like you I stick mostly to shrubs and plants that pretty well take care of themselves. Or ground is too rocky and hard so not many flowers will grow in it. Wishing you all the best with what you planted. Hugs

    • Hi Mags, thanks for caring, and as I replied to Sheila, I’m fine, too tough to break. LOL love to the furries X

  2. Oh Arlene when one tumbles we don’t feel it till much later on. I hope you are well today.
    I don’t think I have heard of Celandine not sure. Unless it’s that little bugger in the veg patch , a little pale blue flower but can be pulled quite easily.
    Good luck with the Lawn there is always Monday Arlene.
    Hugs Sheila enjoy your evening x

    • Hi Sheila, I’m OK after the fall, a little tiny bit ouchy here and there but at 5’0″ I haven’t got far to fall have I LOL,
      Cekandine is also known as Pilewort, when you pull it the little bunches of bulbils look like piles, I take their word for it as I’ve never seen a bunch of piles.
      It’s got leaves like violets but larger, which is what I thought it was, and yellow starry flowers, once you have it, it’s impossible to get rid of it. Hugs to you and Lucy. X

Leave a Reply

