Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Birds and things


Well Sue’s dogs have gone home and the house seems pretty quiet, Ruby has settled back into her sleeping about 20 hours a day, she is just so chilled, or maybe it’s her upbringing, methinks that’s nearer the truth. Well as she’s eleven I don’t mind, and she does get two walks a day and plays with her ball.

Lately on dog walking  I’ve been noticing the multitudes of swallows and martens which are swooping low, skimming across the grass obviously gobbling up the flies, the other day there were dozens flying excitedly over the fields, it lasted about ten minutes, then they were gone, but only till the next swarm, beautiful but sad as we know it’s the end of summer, Wish them God speed and safe passage.

Things have been hotting up in the garden jobwise, I had an old  tree stump that I thought may be rotted enough to break up, so I had a go, until……… WASPS, yes there was a wasp nest in there, I erred on the side of caution and left it alone, called the pest controller and got it sorted. Next day I attacked it withe lump hammer, axe, gemmy and brute force, till it gave up the ghost, now I have a hole in the ground waiting to be filled. I made a start and raked the fallen leaves into it,  emptied the soil from  a few defunct plant pots, one with bulbs, and tomorrow I will get some compost, plant my bulbs and it should look OK next spring.

The leaves are falling thick and fast covering the lawn, so that’s another chore to be tackled.

My neighbour gave me some plants in pots, which I will use to fill in the spaces of the ones I lost during the hot weather.

Honesty seedsSome Honesty seeds

diadem spider Diadem spider on Tomato plant

leaves on grassLots of leaves on the lawn

tree stumpHalf demolished trunk

Well I’ll close if anyone has a peek maybe you’ll leave a word or two ??

7 Comments

  1. Ruby’s doing well Arlene – 11 years!! Wow! It must seem very quiet indeed after all those dogs around you! But if your leaves are anything like the ones around my work place you won’t have too much time to miss them lol you’ll be too busy trying to keep on top of the leaves! Mind you, it was 20 degrees and bright sunshine today so can’t complain too much 🙂

    • I admit it is quiet after the dogs, but I’m not complaining, LOl i’m getting too old for that many lively dogs., lovely though they be. Very humid here. I don’t mind as it will make the winter shorter.

  2. Oh Arlene you are a strong lady indeed, as for the wasp yikes! my advice to my sister was good…she said she was mowing the lawn and then all of a sudden Wasps! She said oh what is that then Sheila…all excited ..I said Run like hell back indoors..

    • Wise move Sheila, you can’t take chances with them,it’s the second one I’ve had in that area.thanks for calling xx

  3. Hi there Anne, how lovely to see a familiar face, AND to leave a comment, a rare thing now.:-) maybe it’s because I stopped blogging for a while you just drop off people’s radar or more have given up but I still enjoy it.
    When I first moved here the garden was just like your Kath’s was, 23 years on I’m still tackling jobs with ‘man’ tools, but I get satisfaction from it.

  4. I peeked!
    Lump hammer, jemmy, sounds like my style of gardening. Even the jcb could not get the stump out that is here. I keep hacking at it bit by bit.
    Bet it is quiet without all your lodgers, at least Ruby is putting it to good use.
    Summer must be drawing to an end, I have the urge to start crocheting another blanket.

    • I meant to mention your quilt Anne, did you see , on my FB page the blind lady who makes quilts , ? Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

