Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

This is not about the weather


Because we’re all sick of it.

Yesterday was Sunday, I know that cos to-day is Monday,

I was going to blog about to-day but nothing much has happened, but as things did happen yesterday I’ll tell you about that instead.

For some months I’ve not been able to lock my back door in cold weather, so last winter I bought a couple of door chains and used them instead. Gradually the front door lock also started to seize up and I had to stop using it. It could get a bit embarrassing having to ask visitors to use the back door, like they were hawkers or something, it leads into my back porch, where I keep all the dog stuff , plus shoes and coats, you know the kind of place. I’d tried graphite, WD40 candle wax and oil, but the locks just completely jammed.

Eventually I asked Ross, my grand-daughter Sarah’s boy friend if he would come and fit new locks as he’s good at that sort of thing being a builder. I also asked Martin my son on law if he would also come and help out fitting some new fence panels,as they were getting a bit rickety, and my  neighbour had backed into two of them [denied]. He not only did that but pruned a lot of rather overgrown holly and Jasmine. It was a freezing cold day so some warm food with hot soup helped keep them from freezing. that home baking comes in handy. 

Not the most interesting of logs I agree, but it kept one old lady happy knowing that the doors were secure at night and I had a bit of pleasure going back and forth trying out the different ways I could go in and out, also in case I shut the front door while it’s still on the latch and lock myself out. but I’ll sort it. 

Ruby’s asleep right now but I’m going to have to wake her up to go for her walk, It’s my dancing night tonight, and we’ll have to kick our heels high to help keep warm,. 

 

10 Comments

  1. Hi Arlene locks sorted that’s good , it’s handy to have a bloke around .
    Hope you had a lovely evening dancing the night away, not done much of that lately.
    Stay warm
    Hugs Sheila x

    • I do admit to feeling a bit more secure now Sheila, though I know Ruby would defend me from the most vicious of intruders 🙂
      Afraid the dancing wasn’t exactly ‘tripping the light….’ but Scottish Country dancing. LOL

  2. Glad you got your locks sorted Arlene, at least it makes us feel secure. Hard to believe that when we were kids the back door was never locked and the front door usually had a key on a string behind the letter box !

    • Hi Marjie, nice to see you taking a break from FB to come on here, I’m trying to get away from FB’s clutches, I just find it too ‘busy’ with no real intimacy, or am I talking out of my hat..
      Oh yes I too can remember these days, but afraid the world a much different and not altogether safer place, more’s the pity.

  3. You were brave to wait that long before getting the lock sorted out! I wouldn’t have done! Hope you have a great night out dancing and stay nice and cosy-warm 🙂

    • Hi Woklfie, I know I shouldn’t have waited so long, but I’m not a scaredy cat sort, and possibly stupidly, think it won’t happen to me. All done and safe now. nice to have a choice what door to come in Hee hee.

      • Hmm…yes Arlene! It was good of you to give Wolfie a choice of doors too! Now if I can’t sneak into the kitchen when you’re baking one way, I have a back-up route in now! lol 😉 And I must just say how mind blowingly impressed I am with your deductive skills…working out what day it was the day before Monday!! 🙂 Congratulations! Your skills are second to none! I’m wondering if I hit the like button here the other day…I can’t tell cos it claims to still be loading and from painful experience it will do so the whole time I’m on here 😀 So…byeeeeeee! 🙂

      • Fear ye not Wolfie, even though you have a choice of doors, I shall be keeping a close eye on what you have hidden under your pelt. my baking is not for the taking without permission.
        And yes you did like my post,, thanks you, it may just get you a small slicce of cake or maybe a flapjack.

  4. Glad you are more secure now. Handy to have useful blokes around to do the odd jobs.
    You’ll have to hide a spare key outside somewhere just in case you get locked out. A good idea in case you have a mishap indoors when alone and cannot get to open a door, at least hopefully you could shout where the spare key was (trust me, experience with Kath taught me that).
    Have a good night tripping the light fantastic : )

    • Hello Anne, nice to see you too taking a break from FB where you are usually so busy, but I can’t keep u, I prefer the more leisurely pace of Blogland where I don’t feel pressured into answering comments immediately and know they’ll still be there when I’m ready.
      I’m lucky to have a good close family who are always willing to give a hand if needed.
      You’re right about secreting a key somewhere for either locked in or out mishaps.
      Dancing was good fun and good company as usual,

Leave a Reply

