Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

A touch of nostalgia


Listening to the radio to-day ‘Desert Island Discs’ actually, the guest requested a song by Andy Williams, The theme from Exodus, it was beautiful, the soft yet rich tones of a truly great singer, and a wonderful sad ,powerful song had me transported back in time when there were such ballad singers like this, Frank Sinatra, Vic Damone, Perry Como Matt Munro, Tony Bennett etc. We never hear singers like this any more, and such a pity, as they really made you ‘feel’ the song, and more to the point, you heard every word. My personal favourite was Nat King Cole, he of the velvet caress in his voice. Oh well back to the present, but it’s nice to reminisce.

5 Comments

  1. Sweet music what would we do without it I say , Nat King Cole was indeed one of my favourites and his daughter of course.
    It’s good to see you blogging again , Yay!! 🙂

    • Thanks Sheila, So many of these wonderful artists are no longer with us, I’ve just finished reading the autobiography of Frank Sinatra’s last wife, Barbara, and it gives an intriguing insight into the man.

      • I meant to say Nat Cole’s Nature Boy was the first record I ever bought.

  2. Music has a wonderful way of doing that 🙂 It’s a great way to switch off from all of the current stresses and strains and remember what it was like to feel really really good! Helps to remind us how to enjoy the present too 🙂 Then again…your good self being here does that too 🙂

    • Ah, Wolfie, you are too kind and sucha flatterer, I’m going to try and keep it up regardless of how few comments come my way. 🙂
      I do love most kinds of music except Jazz, I find it sets my nerves all of a jangle, nice soothing stuff from The lark ascending to as mentioned, Ballad crooners. . Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

