Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Catch up


Just a quick catch up, I haven’t been online blogging much lately,  there have been quite a few pre Christmas activities to be attended to, not complaining about that though.

Just wanted to tell you all about my cooker problem. I got a new one just a year ago next week, it has an interior oven light which  I’ve not used it a lot , then discovered it wasn’t working., on trying to change it I couldn’t budge it, for a start it’s in the most awkward of places, way up inside at the top on the right, which  meant lying on my back to unscrew it. but couldn’t . I’d resorted to using a torch to see inside the oven when baking.

I went into the shop where I’d bought it, and was told it wasn’t covered, so didn’t pursue it further. On talking to a friend, she reckons that it should be covered as it’s part of the enhancements of the cooker or something, Anyhow I decided to have a try, and with one week to go on the guarantee they agreed to replace it.  Next thing I got a phone call from the engineer telling me it would cost me labour, around £75 ! all to change a 30p bulb.!  I told them quite vociferously  I was not going to pay as it was covered for parts AND labour., and I would be taking it further and would probably in fact put it on their site in the review space. and possibly getting in touch with Trades description ombudsman, I hadn’t got a clue how to go about that , but it sounded quite impressive. Smile

I got another phone call soon after saying that it would be changed under the terms of guarantee and have an appointment for to-morrow.  It shows it pays to complain, and all for a 30p bulb.

Take care everyone.

Technorati Tags: ,,,
3 Comments

  1. Glad I was not on the other end of the phone! Can just imagine the ear bashing they got, always worth dropping in a few legal sounding words to catch them unawares.

  2. Well done Arlene that’s the way to go. xx

  3. Last year my oven broke 2 days before Christmas, we cook ours in the electric frying pan that year… Just glad it’s all sorted out for you….

Leave a Reply

