Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

The Substitute


Hi folks, i really love you guys, you make an old lady’s day happier, now then to the title, I didn’t get time to make the banana cake to-day, as I had a few chores to do, such as moving stuff around in the porch, I was convinced i had a mouse, so the cupboard where I keep the dogs blankets and towels had to come out, also the freezer, it took the whole morning to do it, I got up and out with the dogs by 8.30 am to beat the rain, had a drink then started on the moving, it took me till 2 pm, had some soup and thought about baking, till I realized I wouldn’t be able to wait for it to cook before the dog walk. As the clocks went back I now take the dogs out around 4.30 pm. So I decided to make some cheap and cheerful, easy peasy Welsh Cakes, on the griddle, so that it The Substitute.

I was pleased I went out so early as I missed the rain which started just after I got home at 10 am.

Thank you for visiting and please come back, Arlene, Tango and Ruby

Thank you for visiting and please come back, Arlene, Tango and Ruby

12 Comments

  1. BUT???? was there a mouse in the house?… You didn’t say… after all that moving stuff about..
    and…. food? I thought I could sniff something wonderful….aroma’s are my specialty ( or so it seems) …any left at all? NO? … ah well.. probably best, ‘cos by the time I’d arrive it’d all be gone anywho.. and My Girl, used to love getting wet and muddy, but just as much she loved the attention of drying off when we got home… just so long as it wasn’t a B A T H , she was ok. Hugs all round to you, Tango and Ruby Tuesday… and a quick search for a left over griddle cake… Crumbs!! xPenx

    • My arms and back aches this morning after all that furniture mocing, I’e got the physio in the morning to check up on the shoulder, but I don’t think I should tell her about that and the marathon gardening session yesterday.
      Good luck in finding a griddle, you’ll find it invaluable, even just to make pancakes with. πŸ™‚
      There’s about 6 cakes left, but I have a few cupcakes in the freezer, so I will not starve for want of goodies. Happy cooking… Arlene

  2. Hi Wolfie, [catching up, again]
    well I wasn’t so lucky with the weather yesterday, I got well and truly caught. poor dogs, it’s not the getting wet they don’t like, it’s the towelling down when they get home that irritates them.
    Hope that damn rat’s gone. Take care, and is the tooth is back in place??

    • Wolfie is indeed fanged again! Got the long-awaited phone call on Thursday and went down yesterday to get the crown fitted…looks lovely! My fang has never looked so good and shiney! I am now thinking about getting the other one done too but as that would be for cosmetic reasons only I would have to pay private dental prices…but I think it would be worth it πŸ™‚ Will consider between now and 6month check up…
      Oh yes….the towelling down…usually leads to dog deciding human is much better and more effective for drying self on than human’s silly towel! Rat’s either gone back outside or it’s still in the walls πŸ˜‰ It should be dead after all the rat poison it’s eaten but it seems to be immune and enjoying it as a tasty treat with no ill effects whatsoever! lol πŸ˜‰

      • Oh w
        Wolfie, I bet your smile is now dazzling all the rest of the pack, and when you have the other one done, there’ll be no holding you back. I’d love to have mine whitened, as the years have rather taken their toll of the colour, though I should be grateful I still have all bar one. But it would costa lotta dough. I need a filling, eating on one side is getting boring.
        Hope your rat has scuttled off to annoy someone else.

    • Oddly enough, yes the rat has vanished again…but maybe because of a distinct shortage of the supposedly poisoness stuff!
      The best bit about getting the white crowns Arlene is that unlike your natural teeth, they don’t get discoloured but stay like new πŸ™‚ I didn’t know that till my last visit and it makes the cost seem much more acceptable looked at like that. Hope you get that filling sorted…I’ve been eating on one side or the other for the last few weeks cos I can’t bite on the broken tooth. Now I still am as I have to wait for the gum to calm down after the battle my dentist had getting the temporary crown off it!! His comments would have been funny if my jaw didn’t feel like it was being dislocated!! πŸ™‚

      • I’ve got another week before I get this filling done, but I’ve managed not too bad.
        Good luck with your crown, you’ll be flashing the gnashers right left and centre now. perhaps the RAT caught a glimpse of the new gnashers and decided to make a quick exit. yes?

  3. Hi Arlene yes it is a race against the time now isn’t it those darn clocks. Wile-e is a little miserable today although his teeth are clean. Maybe his mouth was feeling sore afterwards when they cleaned his teeth , he sure wasn’t a happy boy yesterday. He is more himself now well nearly. Sheila and Wile-e xxx

    • I hope Wile-e is still feeling better and improving. I expect teeth cleaning is a bit of an ordeal for him, I know Ruby wasn’t feeling too special. Tell me did he have to be under anaesthetic? Ruby did as her teeth were really bad, and it cost me Β£170 so I just hope she remembers to floss. πŸ™‚

      • Hi Arlene yes he was under I haven’t had the bill yet. His teeth were pretty bad , so I am pleased with they way they are looking right now. Hehas cheered up a bit thank goodness today. Hugs Sheila and Wile-e xx

      • Glad Wile-e is feeling a bit better, and really hope you don’t get too much of a shock with the bill. but it’s unfortunately necessary.Ruby and Tango send their hugs to him {{o}}

  4. Love you too! πŸ™‚ Even more so now you’ve baked those scrumptious mouth watering Welsh Cakes πŸ˜‰ AND you missed the rain! Tango and Ruby would no doubt have been pleased about that too…nothing worse than a wet coat you can’t take off!

    You’re lucky if you have/think you have a mouse…I know we have a rat in the house again!! Two in fact, one big, one baby which if it wasn’t a rat would be quite cute as it’s very inquisitive and makes me laugh despite how wrong a rat in the house actually is…they’ve eaten enough rat poison to wipe a horse out but they seem to be immune to it and are coming back for more??!!!

    Not to worry…I shall console myself with Arlene Welsh Cakes! lol πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

