Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Dog walk


Woke up this morning to a dull miserable bedroom, no sunshine peeping through the windows as it usually does around 7 am, nope it looked like it was 3 am, snuggled back under the covers, much to Tango and Ruby’s disgust, for another half hour, who in their right mind wants to get up before noon on a miserable wet Sunday?
I am glad it wasn’t like it yesterday, as I and a couple of others spent over three hours looking for a lady’s dog who’d taken itself off into the field of maize and disappeared. I’d gone up to the burial ground which skirts round farmland for a good walk, I thought the field would have been cleared of grain but there were two huge fields of maize. I was on the way back when I heard a voice call, and when I got to the bottom the lady asked if I’d seen a little black dog, it was a Patterdale terrier, and had obviously gone off rabbiting. A rescue, she’d only had a couple of months.
As I wasn’t in any hurry and the morning was pleasant I said I’d go round again and for her to stay put, I put my two in the car as they’d been walking for over an hour anyway., another gent joined us then another couple Around the perimeter there are thick wooded areas a haven for bunnies and all wildlife, BUT down through the bottom of the other field runs the railway.
We went our different ways and passed each other a couple of times, all looking a bit glum, a bit later after I passed one gent on the way round all the time calling Tilly, Tilly, [the dog’s name not the man’s] a couple of mins later the man called out Found her, brilliant, I thought and started to run back, but he’d only spotted her as she came out when I called her name, then disappeared. We ran all the way round to the owner hoping the dog would have gone back, but no, so she and I went back that way, about a half mile along at a corner of the field we spotted her, hallelujah, she came bounding up to her mum and she burst into tears.
The dog was knee high to a grasshopper and the corn is over my head,OK I know that’s not high but at least 5 feet. so it wouldn’t even rustle for anything less than a donkey in there.
I was so glad I didn’t have anything pressing and could easy spare the time to help out as I would have fretted had I had to leave her, I know the state I’d be in if it was one of my dogs.
I’d gone out at 9.30 am and got home for lunch at three after a bit of shopping, but no matter, the dog was found, that was the main thing.,
As I said at the beginning the weather this morning is grey and miserable, and as I write this the rain is pattering against the window, sigh, I’ve had breakfast, it’s 9.30 and I have to take my two out, but I think I’ll steer clear of the maize field, not fancying another morning worrying about straying dogs.

 

6 Comments

  1. I love a happy ending. I know I’d be so worried if Kassey got out. It’s been gloomy here and rainy since yesterday(Sunday). I don’t mind because of the intense heat we’ve had. The cool temps (60’s) are surely welcome as well. Thanks again for the nice sunshine award.

    • You’re welcome re the award, you do work hard on your blog, well, with a little help from Kassey i imagine. LOL

  2. I read with hope that the dog would be found Arlene, and I’m so glad it was a happy ending. When Bess and i used to go down to the Local Golf Course there was a small Beagle,(Bella) who’d always run away from it’s owner, no matter if she called and called, and offered treats, it’d just wander off, I used to hope and pray Bess wouldn’t do the same. BUT it did happen once when a class of school kids spooked her, and off she went, like a flash. I was beside myself, and thought she’d get run over or never find her way home. BUT she did, the clever little so an’ so. I turned up on our doorstep after spending most of the afternoon searching the nearby woods, crying my eyes out, and there she was, patiently waiting to be let in. A smile on her face , so big that I couldn’t be angry, just felt enormous relief and burst into tears again. (why are my cheeks wet? 😉 ) … I’m just glad that you didn’t get lost in the corn yourself., with the little doggie coming to the rescue?.. now that would be a great tale eh? 😀 … hugs to you three from me xPenx

    • Oh Pen it’s nice that you can recall a memory of Bess, even though you ARE crying in the telling. I don’t think I’ve ever lost one of mine, , though at times I wished Chippie would disappear. he was such a pain. Welcome back XXX

  3. Oh dear…nothing worse than your dog disappearing is there! Lucky for that lady that you and others were prepared to help find it. Wish there were more like you! It’s been grey and miserable here too. It was actually bright and sunny till I headed out to go shopping then the heavens opened and the return home involved a tsunami wave from a passing car on a waterlogged road! Not amused!! Very cold and wet!! Hope the next dog walk went in a rather more chilled out and relaxing fashion!! 🙂

    • I know I’d be beside myself if it was any of my dogs Wolfie, I was glad I had the time and the dog was found. I got a soaking to-day , I saw the clouds coming in from the west and didn’t turn back soon enough, oh well it’s only water.

Leave a Reply

