Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Some bits still fit.


beryl1

When I was in my younger days,
I weighed a few pounds less,
I needn’t hold my tummy in
To wear a belted dress.
But now that I am older,
I’ve set my body free;
There’s comfort of elastic
Where once my waist would be.
Inventor of high-heeled shoes
My feet have not forgiven;
I used to wear a six,
Now I wear a seven.
beryl2
And how about those blasted tights —
They’re sized by weight, you see,
So how come when I put them on
The crotch is at my knee?
I need to wear these glasses
As the print’s been getting smaller;
And it wasn’t very long ago
I know that I was taller.
Though my hair has turned to grey
And my skin no longer fits,
On the inside, I’m the same old me,
The outside’s changed a bit.

8 Comments

  1. good one Arlene, so much to look forward to in the older years of life. NOT!!! 🙂
    I keep saying, if I wuz taller I’d be the right weight. 😉 .. xPenx

    • Older is Ok as long as a… you don’t look it .b….you are healthy c…. if you have money , if not it can be a pain, or so I’m told 🙂

  2. Lol…that was fun! I love that line, “my skin doesn’t fit!” ROTFL!! Thanks for this highly giggle worthy post 😉 Just what i needed on what today is a wet cold and miserable Sunday evening 🙂
    woflie hugs x

    • Glad you enjoyed it Wolfie , aren’t dogs lucky they don’t concern themselves about these things.

  3. Funny but very true poem, on what’s it’s like to get older…

    • I’m beginning to realize that [n what’s it’s like to get older…] not much fun eh?

  4. LOL lOVED THIS little poem Arlene so very right thank you for this bit of humour. Xsheila x:)

    • You’re welcome Sheila,, thanks for visiting. keep well, and enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

