Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

A new tip or 3 or 4


Glad you appreciated the last tip folks, I thought it too clever, and easy, not to share.

Yes Sheila it’s my birthday to-morrow, my two girls are taking me out for lunch, as it’s Arlene’s on Wednesday there will be another celebration next week too.

I’ve been busy making my new website, it has taken my 3 days to get it uploaded and published, but I think it’s sorted at last, after a lot of support tickets. I’d love you to check it out for me

at http://www.arlene-phillips-art.co.uk 


Bounce This Along

U.S. Postal service sent out a message to all letter carriers to put a sheet of Bounce in their uniform pockets to keep yellow-jackets away.[I think this is wasps for us in UK]

Use them all the time when playing baseball and soccer. I use it when I am working outside. It really works. The insects just veer around you.

All this time you’ve just been putting Bounce in the dryer!

6 Comments

  1. happy birthday! (probably late) dryer sheets for wasp repellant. huh. most wasps here arent so bad as long as you dont threaten them. yellow jackets, on the other hand, have a mean streak and will go out of their way to harass and sting. theyre the psychotics of the bee world.

    we have a cicada killer living in the back yard that got a little aggressive with us and our dogs, forgetting that he is the tenent here. the beau knocked him sensless with a tennis racket, and then we kept him in a jar for a couple of hours. neither of us likes to kill anything, unless we just have to. when we let him go, he took off like lightning. when he finally came back, he has shown new respect for us and our dogs. no more problem. try that with a yellow jacket and you will have a war.

    hope you had a nice day out!
    k☼

    • arlene

      First Thank you for the birthday wishes Kirsten, and…. these yellow jackets, that I thought were wasps, [pardon my ignorance] sound lethal, AND a cicada killer! what on earth is that, and how big is it? I don’t think I’ll be visiting your patch any time soon, scary.

  2. another good tip Arlene, I’ll have to try it.. and I’ve just been in the garden, moving a plant from A to B(ee) ;-)… I hope it survives… I’ve checked your new site and it’s looking a treat, esp the photo’s and painting of Her Maj, but then I am ever so slightly biased …. 😀 ,
    A Happy Birthday wish to you, and have a great day out with your girls… hugs to you three from me… xPenx

    • arlene

      Hope the tips prove useful Pen, and thanks for the compliments on the new site, Bess does look nice, you’ve every right to be biased of course. I hope I’ve done her justice.
      As you’ll see from the new posting I had a lovely day.

  3. Happy Birthday Arlene my dear…

    • arlene

      Many Thanks Lady Jude

Leave a Reply

