Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

A wasted day


To-day I decided that after 4 years I would eventually bite the bullet and upload the files from my Camcorder, yes 4 years I’ve had this neat little camcorder, My previous one recorded to video and I have videos from way back when the grandchildren were little, they are now in their twenties, I sometimes spend a little quiet time looking at them and wondering where the years have gone. Sometimes I find it too painful, as some of my old dead and gone dogs are on them. If there’s anything that kills a good day or mood, is to watch your beloved companions as they were. I digress and wallow forgive me. I looked high and low for the instructions to go with this gadget and no luck, till tucked away with some leads and wires and such I found two DVD discs with Sony camcorder on and thought, this could be something useful. I put in the first disc and voila it was the instructions in Adobe format. I started to read through the various pages and tried taking note of where and how it told me what to do to get the files up on screen and then with a bit of luck on to DVD ! oh such high ambitions I had. After noting down pages 35, 48,62 81 96 etc I gave up and thought I would just print it out and go from there at my leisure. Set up the printer, sorted out the settings loaded in the paper and pressed print, just checked the box for sheets and flaming Nora, it was 135 pages of it, I quickly shut off the printer and checked out the PDF doc, it was right, so I thought OK I can’t keep putting the computer on inserting a disc and checking through the index everytime I want to upload a bit of film. After four printer jams and two different coloured papers of slightly different sizes, [thank heaven I took advantage of an office clear out many moons ago or it would have cost a bit] I got it all printed out, I put in the other CD but for some reason it wouldn’t show, so I’ll try that later on my laptop. As it’s now 5.30 pm the dogs are chomping to go out I’ll have to postpone my good intentions of flashing off a few videos. So instead I am putting on a little show of me at a couple of fancy dress parties from a few years back. Enjoy. The theme in the top one was, what you were wearing when the ship went down I was playing tennis. And in the other I was a down and out duchess, The quality isn’t too good, but they are about forty years old, once again where does the time go. I’ve had them sitting on the desktop for a while so now I can put them back in their box of memories, I have more somewhere but they can wait for another day, Byeeeeee

 



8 Comments

  1. I wish I’d had a camcorder when my children were small. I do however have the photos. I’ve been yearning to get them on CD when I learn how, can’t be too difficult , I think. It just take time. I figure if they’re on CD, I can protect them better, when Kassey and I have to go into the closet, hoping that we’ll be safe from storms. Thanks for sharing your memories.

    • Me too Gr gran, I didn’t get mine till they were grown up and it’s their children, my grandchildren I have on film now, but things like that weren’t invented for us plebs way back in the sixties, I was barely able to afford a camera than., but how glad I am that we have them now. truly wonderful inventions.
      ‘When’ I get them on CD I’ll let you know how easy or difficult it was . 🙂

  2. i dont see this as wasted time. i see this as learning. you may not feel as though you learned, but you absorbed more than you think!
    as for old pitures … ya they make my heart ache a little too, sometimes. sigh …
    i love the old pics you posted ;D theyre wonderful!
    k☼

    • Maybe you’re right Kirsten, I hope so as it’d be a waste of money having a camcorder full of stuff you can’t view.
      My pictures are the first material things I would save in a fire.
      Thanks too for liking.

  3. I hate manuals, Arlene, anything I buy which has an instruction thingy or an online guide always makes my heart sink, I can only make head or tail AFTER I get to know how to work something, then I understand the so called ‘simple’ instructions. I know what you mean about painful videos of loved dogs now gone, my ex an I have loads of videos of Bess, and I want to put them on DVD to save, but it;’s too painful at the mo, (filling up even now just thinking about it) .. so just do it when you can. (and when you’ve sorted the instructions out !!) …
    Enjoyed seeing the photo’s. and the tennis one seems so fitting with Wimbledon in full um… swing? 🙂 … hugs to you and Tango and Ruby. xxPenxx

    • Snap Pen I’ve always been a bit cart before the fhe type of person, I follow things better when they are visually shown to me and I can get hands on, then the manual makes sense.
      I still haven’t had time to do anything about it, I went to Karen’s for the BBQ for Jason’s birthday and didn’t get home.
      till 10 pm. and to-day was catch up in the garden while the weather is fine.
      off out to-night so this is hurried.
      I Pen, I still shed tears over dogs that have been gone 30 years and more, though they’re not so painful, just misty memories that fog up the eyes, and as I said to Sandy, the memories are worth every tear, I wouldn’t be without them
      But take your time, it’s very early days after Beth, the stuff will still be there next year, maybe you can do it on the anniversary of her leaving you, or what would have been her birthday, you’ll know when the time is right.
      Hugs and kind thoughts to you, extra ones from the furbabes. XX
      Glad you enjoyed the photos. Not exactly Serena am I ? :-}

  4. SandySays1

    Hi Arlene,
    Technology is frustrating isn’t it? The Geezer fusses and fumes when he’s learning one of the gadgets he acquires from time to time. And he produces steam when he works on wordpress though its more friendly than some of his other “cuss-ats.” He added a page and pic of him on my site – uuuuuuu !!! I know memories can bring a rear or two, but the Geezer says imagine that you never had the pleasure of making those memories and let that bring a smile to balance the eye-rain.
    Sandy http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • Yes it can be so frustrating, I sometimes wonder what we let ourselves in for when we ditched the Abacus, but doggies like you don’t have to worry about that sort of thing.
      I must get round to your site and have a decko at the Geezer, sounds a bit like me, bad tempered when he’s frustrated.
      And yes the memories may be painful but they’re worth every tear.

Leave a Reply

