Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Catching up


A  quick post to catch up

Where did the weekend go, one minute it was Thursday and now it’s Monday, 

I know Thursday I went out with Sue and all the dogs for a New Forest walk, it was a blazing hot day , we had 6 dogs between us who all thoroughly enjoy the day too, though Stroodle didn’t like the horses getting too close and chased them away.

I had my hair cut in the afternoon, all short again, easier.

Friday,  Karen my younger daughter came up for lunch, and Saturday I had to spend getting everything ready for the dog show I was judging on Sunday, plus doing the usual chores. 

The show was at Petersfield only about 60 miles away but as we had to be there by 8 am it meant a 6.30 am start. When I arrive I have to walk the dogs, set up my round and erect the tent, which is always a hilarious job and takes longer than it should, despite idiot taping all the poles. 

Judging started at 9 am  and we finished around 5 pm, The weather was short of the blazing heat of a couple of days ago, it was overcast, occasional splats of rain and chilly, I ended up with an extra cardi, gloves and a scarf!!! Unbelievable,  a drop of about 10 degrees in two days.

Sybil, my friend who was helping out, took a photo and if it looks OK I’ll post it up later.

To-day I was tired and had shopping to do, so after the shopping I thought I’d have forty winks, that turned into almost two hours. 

So out with the dogs to wake me up and on the computer to fill in the gaps, as I’m out to-night.

On Saturday I decided to cook some chicken for lunch, put it in the microwave with a cover to stop it splattering and pressed the ‘chicken’ button to cook for 20 mins. Ho hum, I had pressed the button for oven cooking not microwave and the cover I put on was plastic and here is the result. 

cover beforeThis was what it looked like before, this is a spare one,

this is what it looked like after

cover after

8 Comments

  1. Flipping heck Arlene, um, was dinner ruined too? Plastic chicken or rubber duck came came to mind.
    and I know what you mean about time flying, seems you can’t fit enough into each day, as the clock zooms round. I wonder if the batteries are faulty? 😉 … hugs and woofs and licks, to you, Tango and Ruby, xPenx

    • Oh yes Pen, the chicken legs were covered in blue plastic goo, OK it went hard and peeled off, but I didn’t fancy it, so I opened a tin of sardines instead .
      I had a full night’s sleep last night , the first for a bout four, so felt well and fit to-day, had to go and have some retail therapy just to boost the feel good factor.
      Got another show on Sunday to judge, so it wilI be another lost weekend, I don’t mind though,I enjoy it and seeing all old friends and their old and new dogs. I was talking to Tango’s breeder, and she remarked on how he’s aging, and though he’s eating well, his backbone is a bit prominent. 😦
      He’s still got enough energy to say Hi Pen and here’s a big kiss, and from Roobs and me, hugs. XX

  2. SandySays1

    I’m glad I’m not the only one in catch-up mode. The Geezer has been really busy (he just signed a deal to write to novels) and that keeps him at the computer and me away. He’s been falling asleep at the computer too! I don’t blame Stroodle – those horses are big suckers! Say hi to Tango.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com
    PS – You get an “A” in pot destruction!

    • Well signing deals to write novels, I hope you’re feeling proud of him an letting him know it, it brings in the meaty dinners you know, so allow him access to the computer, and give him nice licks every now and then to let him know you love him. awwwwww.
      I’m glad Stroodle chases the horses, as they scare me a bit, a big bit.
      I don’t want any more A’s as I like my dinner unwrapped.

  3. We’ve all had moments like those Arlene, Shame you didn’t get to eat the chicken, bet you were hungry as well….

    • Yes I was hungry Lady Jude, I felt quite cheated, somehow sardines on toast didn’t taste quite as good.:-(

  4. ah … laminated chicken! my favorite! next to laminated turkey, which is done the night before thanksgiving, by preheating the same oven for cookies that the turkey is thawing out in. its best done by a teenager who has a forgiving mother. and its best done only once …
    heh heh
    what a busy weekend you had! wish our temps would drop 10 degrees. then it would be only 80º. bleh.
    k☼

    • Oh dear Kirsten, that was a bigger tragedy than my chicken legs, Perhaps you should have put a bow round it and served it as a present.
      We are struggling around the low to mid sixties, roll on summer.

Leave a Reply

