Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

Chattering


Just a little catch-up

My kitchen is all but finished except for the curtains which are being made, but may be about 3-4 weeks yet, so I’ll leave the final photos till then,

Ruby has got over her little op and has had no ill effects at all, and is now enjoying off lead running again.

Poor Tango has had to have the indignity of wearing a muzzle, He has been a dirty dog, eating all sorts of rubbish when we’re out, I won’t go into details, but it’s that or on a lead and i think this is the lesser of two evils. Age is unfortunately catching up with him faster than any other dog I’ve ever had, It upsets me to witness a dog who was highly intelligent, who got to the highest class and standard in competition obedience, slide into  old age, ravenous appetite is one of the symptoms with him ad he actually stole some food the other night the first time ever., I’ve noticed the change since Christmas, when he turned 13 yrs, His hearing is also fading.

One of my previous collies, Whisper, went through the same thing, though she was 15 before it was noticeable,  she lived to 17.1/2 .

Well folks, that’s about it for now, I can’t think of anything else to say, I hope to come visiting to-morrow if not to-night, to see what you’ve all been up to.

Thank you for visiting and please come back, Arlene, Tango and Ruby

11 Comments

  1. Never easy when our best friends start to age like that is it…worse perhaps when it happens so quickly. You don’t really get time to adjust the same as when it creeps up more gradually and you adjust to the changes gently sometimes not really realising too much till it becomes more prononunced. But he is still with you and undoubtedly very happy to be so so try to enjoy each day with him in new ways, appreciating what he is offering right now, even as the ageing problems set in…you will both be fine 🙂

    And I look forward to seeing your pics of the kitchen and the curtains! wolfie hugs x

    • Hi Wolfie, thanks for your kind words, \i expect you understand. It is a very gradual thing with Tango, in fact unless you’re with him constantly it’s not noticeable, It’ll be interesting to see if my friend Madge thinks when she sees him at Petersfield dog show next month, her daughter has his brother.
      I appreciate every day with him but at times it’s hard when he’s being ‘awkward’

      • It would be interesting to see his brother and how he is faring since they must be the same age…
        It’s never easy when they’re being “awkward” no matter what their age but I think perhaps it’s harder as they get older precisely because it is indictive of that fact, and we don’t wish to be reminded of this more than necessary!
        Gently Icewolf nuzzle and a friendly lick for Tango 🙂 And a playful nibble for Ruby!! 😉

  2. Congratulations! You have been awarded the “Versatile Blogger” Award. Visit sandysays1.wordpress.com for details.

    • Woof, woof Sandy, fangks a lot I accept with gratitude, but where is it, I want to display it. I am chuffed to bits. Licks from Ruby and Tango in appreciation too. XXX

  3. we know we are going to outlive our pets … and yet we seem to not believe it till their little lives begin to wind down. sigh …
    we also have several older pets at the moment, though none showing any signs of slowing down yet.

    im grateful for you that tango is in good health, even though older. i know he is a happy dog. im sure you still have a few good years left with him, even if you have to help him a bit more now. ruby will be a big help to both of you in this.
    k☼

    • Hello again Kirsten and thanks for your comment. and yes, it is a sad fact that we say goodbye to our pets, far too often, in the words of Kipling, Brothers and Sisters I bid you beware of giving your heart to a dog to tear, very true. Ruby will be my last dog, and I don’t even want to think of saying goodbye for the last time. [shudder]
      I wish yours long life.

  4. Good to have an update on the kitchen Arlene, I’ve been keeping myself busy decorating the bathroom, and just trying to keep thoughts reigned in. Work helps, but home just means a key in the door and then looking for my girl, she used to be there, a welcome, full of love and tails wagging and ‘what’ve you got me?’ type of thing. Her head used to go straight into the shopping bags as I unpacked.
    So your feelings about Tango and the passage of time hit a sore note. I feel for you, I do, ex and I tried our damnedest to keep my girl going, but you can’t fight against age and illness. Your heart just breaks when you think back to their younger days, and before I start to wallow, I’d best finish this comment. (‘cos I’m in tears for you, for Tango and for myself. … selfish or what? ) Hugs to you three from little ole me. xPenx

    • Thank you Pen and nice to see you back, glad you’re keeping yourself busy, it helps, a bit,
      it will take time, it;s something you have to go through, and there’s no short cuts, sorry., I know I’ve got it coming one day, hopefully not too soon.
      It’s all the little things that will set you off from time to time.
      I hope maybe you and your ex are still giving each other comfort and support,
      If you run out of chores to keep you occupied, there’s a few needs doing over here. I can also offer a good line in shoulders to cry on, though you’d have to bend down quite a way to reach mine, 🙂
      Lots of hugs from me T&R. XX

  5. You hit a chord there Arlene, about noticing our little loves getting old. It is very upsetting to accept. I find that I look all the more into what is wrong with them rather than enjoy them for each day they are around and have to snap myself out of it. Mo is ten this year and I had always thought Rottie lifespans were about 8 to 10 years. She has gone white round the muzzle and huffs and puffs a bit more than she should but that is because she could do with loosing a bit of weight.
    There was upset with Winston, my daughters dog on Sunday. I went to let him out and had to ring her to get straight back home. He had had the runs all over downstairs and was unable to use his back legs and was in pain. I had no car and they had a puncture and took 6 hours to get back. I dreaded that if I took him to the vet that he would not be coming home ever. The little blighter bucked up when they got in and even more so after vet a&e and a steroid jab etc. But I can see it in him that he with his crumbling spine, leukemia and dodgy back legs, aches and pains really ought to be helped before long, but they don’t want to face it and I completely understand although it saddens me to see. He and Mo are the same age and grew up together.
    My biggest regret ever is not helping my Rosie on her way sooner when she was 19, I shall never hesitate again and would rather always wonder if I done the right thing than know that I had let the suffering go on too long. (Still too painful to remember her last days five years ago).

    • Morning Anne.my resolve has crumbled this morning and I’ve put on the computer, I did have an email to send and had to have a peek on here, Thanks for your sensitive comments, only another dog owner could truly understand what we go through with our friends. You hit the nail on the head by saying you look at their ills rather than just accepting and enjoying them I must remember that.
      Mo is doing well as I do know that they’re not a long lived breed, surely the dog at 19 wasn’t a Rottie!
      What a worry with Winston, I hope he’s recovered, but as you say you can see his future in him. I shouldn’t feel too bad about Rosie, though I fully understand what you mean, it is so hard to let go. I was the same with Whisper, but when the time came I knew, her body just gave up, but I can look back and say she had a good life and wasn’t in pain though blind and deaf, she could sense my presence and that appeared to be all she needed.
      Have a nice day Ann and thank you for taking the time to reply, Now I must close the lid or I will be here till lunch time and the dogs are champing at the bit. X

Leave a Reply

