Arlene and two adopted dogs.

Just a blog from someone who loves to communicate with other dog owners

FANCY DRESS


Hi folks I’ve decided to continue with this site but simply copying from my Blogspot http://4pawsandatale,blogspot.co. [a much prettier site]

Tomorrow now Tonight

Just posting a quickie here to say that I’ve got a Hallow e’en party tomorrow evening with my Scottish Country Dancing group, I’m going as Dracula’s bride, got all the face make up, pointy teeth, blood and net curtains as a bride dress. I’ll try and get a photo to show off.
I should have gone to one last year but I got the dreaded swine flu and missed it. I do love fancy dress.   I remember once many years ago I was still with ‘him’ ,  the sports club we belonged to had a FD every New Year’s’ eve, , in past years I’ve dressed as, a squaw, Fox’s glacier mint, down and out duchess, what I was wearing when the ship went down, [that was dressed for tennis]  I have photos of some, whichh I’ll try and find. Anyhow to get back to the time I started about, I got an old army greatcoat from a charity shop, old boots with the toes cut out, different coloured holey socks, I dirtied my face and stuck rice crispies on my chin, scraped dog hairs off the dogs back and stuck clumps on my face, blacked out half my teeth with liquorice, used unravelled grey wool stuffed under an old battered trilby hat and finished it off with an old walking stick, yes you guessed, a tramp, I was chuffed to bits. and off we set. ‘he’ never dressed up. We got to the club about 10 pm, there didn’t appear to be anyone else dressed up, we waited, and waited and waited, one member’s wife turned up as a Wild West bar girl, all swirly skirts and glam, I could feel myself getting more and more embarrassed, I just wanted to disappear into the woodwork, around 11.30 I looked at hubby, held out my hand and just said, ‘KEYS’ with a face like thunder, he went to persuade me to stay, I just said again ‘KEYS’ he handed them over and I raced home about 60 mph pulling off my warts, hairy chin and woolly hair as I went.
At first I thought to just have a bath and go to bed, and then thought bu***er it and got out my classiest black dress, highest heels, put my hair up,  piled on the slap, and drove back to the club with my head in the air.
I got a round of applause and a bottle of whisky for the best Fancy Dress of the night LOL they never had any more after that, a pity ‘cos I loved them and thought them great fun, Fingers crossed that I’m not the only one to-morrow night,
PS it was a shame it was one of the few when I didn’t have a photograph taken.
Leave a Reply

